Integrated Search Menu

Denis Sosyura

Faculty, TEMPE Campus, Mailcode 3906


Denis Sosyura is a Professor of Finance at Arizona State University (ASU). Before joining ASU in 2017, he served on the faculty of the University of Michigan's Ross School of Business in 2008-2017 after completing his PhD at Yale University. 

His primary research focus is on corporate finance, financial institutions, and financial media. His work has been published in the Journal of Finance, Journal of Financial Economics, and Review of Financial Studies. He has received eleven best paper awards from leading academic conferences. He also holds the Distinguished Referee Award from the Review of Financial Studies. He is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA).

His teaching has been recognized by a number of awards, such as the Most Impactful Finance Professor and the John W. Teets Outstanding Teaching Award, as well as numerous award nominations, including the Economist Intelligence Unit Business Professor of the Year Award, ASU Centennial Professorship Award, Provost Prize for Teaching Innovation, Golden Apple Teaching Award, and the MBA Teaching Excellence Award. 

  • Ph.D. Finance, Yale University, New Haven, CT 2008 
  • M.B.A. Finance and Accounting, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 2003
  • B.A. Finance, Kharkiv National University of Economics, Kharkiv, Ukraine 2001  
Research Interests: 
  • Corporate Finance
  • Financial Insitutions
  • Financial Media
Spring 2022
Course NumberCourse Title
FIN 550Fixed Income
Spring 2021
Course NumberCourse Title
FIN 550Fixed Income
Spring 2020
Course NumberCourse Title
FIN 550Fixed Income
Spring 2019
Course NumberCourse Title
FIN 550Fixed Income
Fall 2018
Course NumberCourse Title
WPC 591Seminar
Spring 2018
Course NumberCourse Title
FIN 550Fixed Income
Honors / Awards: 
  • Best Paper Award — University of Washington Summer Finance Conference, 2016
  • Best Paper Award — IDC-Herzliya Finance Conference, 2016
  • Distinguished Referee Award — Review of Financial Studies, 2016
  • Best Paper Award — Arizona State UniversitySonoran Winter Finance Conference, 2016
  • NBD Bancorp Chaired Assistant Professorship — University of Michigan, 2013
  • NTT Research Fellowship — University of Michigan, 2012
  • Best Paper Award — Napa Conference on Financial Markets, 2011
  • Citigroup Best Paper Award — Indian School of Business Summer Conference, 2010
  • Best Paper Award in Corporate Finance — Asian Finance Association, 2010
  • Best Paper Award — La Trobe Finance and Governance Conference, 2010