Integrated Search Menu

Leland Hartwell

Profile photo
Faculty, TEMPE Campus, Mailcode 7805
Distinguished Sustainability Scientist
Faculty, TEMPE Campus, Mailcode 7805
Faculty, TEMPE Campus, Mailcode 7805
Affiliate Faculty Member; Professor; Nobel Laureate, Physiology or Medicine
Faculty, TEMPE Campus, Mailcode 7805

Leland Hartwell led a research team at the Department of Genetics, University of Washington using cell biology and genetics to investigate how yeast cells divide from 1968 to 1997. They discovered two cellular pathways that are integrated by an overall control point regulating cell division and a signaling pathway that arrests cell division in response to DNA damage.

From 1997-2010, he was president and director of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. During that period the FHCRC completed its expansion and consolidation to the South Lake Union campus and formed the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance in partnership with the University of Washing and Seattle Children’s Hospital. He advised the the National Cancer Institute in the creation the NCI CPTAC proteomics program and organized an international cancer proteomics consortium devoted to the early detection of cancer.

He joined the faculty of the Arizona State University in 2010. He is the Virginia G. Piper Chair of Personalized Medicine, with appointments in the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering, and School of Sustainability. He is the director of the Biodesign Pathfinder Center and leads a small team that developed and teaches a course, Sustainability Science for all pre-service K-8 Teachers.He also heads the HoneyBee program at ASU overseeing a series of small clinical trials using wearable devices to monitor physiological parameters in clinical patients for a variety of diseases.

He also has an appointment as Distinguished Faculty at Chang Gung University and Hospital system in Taiwan where he advises a Biosignatures Program seeking to discover biomarkers in oral cancer, colon cancer and other diseases and to implement wearable devices in clinical management.

Professor Hartwell is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and he received the 2001 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. Other honors include the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award, the Gairdner Foundation International Award, the Alfred P. Sloan Award in cancer research, and the Genetics Society Medal of Honor.


Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1964


Research Activity
Fall 2018
Course NumberCourse Title
HON 394Special Topics
Spring 2018
Course NumberCourse Title
SOS 394Special Topics
HON 394Special Topics
BIO 394Special Topics
SOS 493Honors Thesis
Fall 2017
Course NumberCourse Title
HON 394Special Topics
SOS 492Honors Directed Study
Fall 2016
Course NumberCourse Title
HON 394Special Topics
Spring 2016
Course NumberCourse Title
BIS 294Special Topics
Fall 2015
Course NumberCourse Title
HON 394Special Topics
Fall 2014
Course NumberCourse Title
HON 494Special Topics
Honors / Awards
  • 2008, Honorary Academician, Academica Sinica, Republic of China
  • 2008, Washington State Academy of Sciences (Founding Class)
  • 2007, Honorary Doctor of Science, Arizona State University
  • 2005, Distinguished Scientist Award – Association of American Cancer Institutes
  • 2004, Alfred G. Knudson Award in Cancer Genetics – National Cancer Institute
  • 2004, Honorary Professor, Peking Union Medical College, Beijing, China
  • 2004, Honorary Professor, Tsinghua University, China
  • 2003, State of Washington, State Medal of Merit
  • 2001, The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
  • 2000, The Massry Prize – The Meira and Shaul G. Massry Foundation
  • 1999 California Institute of Technology - Distinguished Alumni Award
  • 1999 City of Medicine Award
  • 1999 American Cancer Society Medal of Honor 
  • 1998 American Academy of Arts and Sciences membership
  • 1998 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award
  • 1998 Brinker International Award for Basic Science - Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation
  • 1996 Passano Award
  • 1996 Carnegie Mellon Dickson Prize
  • 1995 MGH Warren Triennial Prize
  • 1995 Columbia University Horwitz Award
  • 1995 Keith Porter Award, Amer Soc Cell Biology
  • 1994 Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center Katherine Berkan Judd Award
  • 1994 Genetics Society of America Medal
  • 1993 Brandeis University Rosenstiel Award 
  • 1992 Gairdner Foundation International Award
  • 1992 University of Chicago Simon Shubitz Award
  • 1991 General Motors Sloan Award
  • 1991 Hoffman LaRoche Mattia Award
  • 1990 National Institutes of Health Merit Award
  • 1990-1997 American Cancer Society Research Professor Genetics 
  • 1983-1984 American Cancer Society Scholar
  • 1973 Eli Lilly Award in Microbiology and Immunology   
Professional Associations
  • National Academy of Sciences
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences